Leadership and Organization Sructure

The Quality Assurance Bureau is led by the Coordinator who is an appointee of the Vice Chancellor. The Coordinator works with all units of the University through QA Committees. Quality assurance issues from various units within the University are shared to the University Management through relevant committees such as the Committee of Principals, Deans, Directors and Heads of Administrative Departments (CoPD); University Senate and/or the Council. Overall, the QAB is comprised of the QAB Coordinator who is the overall in-charge; the Quality Assurance Officer, who assists the Coordinator in implementing the QAP specifically on academic matters including overseeing the CSU, academic staff capacity development through the UTLIP. Other office support staff include the Office Management Secretary (OMS) supported by the Office Attendant (OA). The Bureau expects to be provided with a Quality Assurance Officer in-charge of Administrative and Service matters, including supervision of ground staff. The CSU hosted by the QAB  has seven ground staff: three are based at Solomon Mahlangu Campus where the Solomon Mahlangu College of Science and Education (SMCoSE) is based and four are at SUA Main Campus. The roles and responsbilities of these staff are detailed in the CSU Manual. The overall organization structure of QAB is found in the QAP (2017) available on SUA website.